To watch or not to watch ‘The Watch’

The Watch (2012)

Directed by Akiva Schaffer

6/10  R

With a busy back-to-school schedule, Burd’s Eye Movie Reviews has been lacking. Believe me, I’m certainly aware. And I dread to make “The Watch” my latest review, but a “fundatory” staff bonding night required my viewing and therefore required my reviewing. Enjoy.

Expectations have always…always…been the key to reviewing movies, in my opinion. With the media-driven world we live in, it’s hard not to hear a thing or two or three about every movie playing in your local theater (in my case, a drive-in one). So when I heard “The Watch” was a pretty crappy movie, I wasn’t excited. But when I saw it last night, I was surprised at how bearable it actually was. When a neighborhood watch (Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn, Jonah Hill, and Richard Ayoade) is on the hunt for a murderer, they wouldn’t likely have expected the species of killer they found. It’s terribly predictable and generally unfunny, but Ayoade puts some British spunk into the comedy to make it surprisingly enjoyable. It won’t win any Oscars, but you may enjoy it in a “guilty pleasure” sort of way…even if Vince Vaughn acts as if he’s in an amateur production. But I wouldn’t pay for it (but I didn’t have to last night).

“The Watch” is in theaters now. And thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “To watch or not to watch ‘The Watch’

  1. Hmm maybe I’ll catch it after work or when it goes to a cheapo cinema called the Rainbow after it plays a little longer. Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

