Oscar, how dare you! 2012 Academy Award surprises

1. Has the Academy started allowing children to vote, or have they simply lost their sense of adventure? Steven Spielberg’s “War Horse” receives 6 Oscar nominations, but his incredibly exciting, pulse-pounding “The Adventures of Tintin” received only one…for Best Original Score. In its Best Animated Feature slot, “Kung Fu Panda 2” and “Puss in Boots” stood. The biggest flub of the year…of this new decade!…must be “The Adventures of Tintin.” It gets NO love, being put behind the slightly comical “Kung Fu Panda 2,” which may have deserved a nomination if they nominated 10. Silly me, I even thought “The Adventures” could fight for a Best Picture nom. For me, it was better than “The Tree of Life” and “Moneyball” combined.

2. I haven’t seen “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close,” but I’ve read by a plethora of critics that it is both controversial, exploitative, and disappointing. That was why I was shocked that Oscar honored it with a Best Picture nomination. That, along with the torturous “Tree of Life” that had Oscar written all over it but seems to make little sense to almost all Americans, made me tilt my head.

3. “Hugo” got 11 nominations! More than “The Artist” with 10 and “Moneyball” and “War Horse” with 6. A wonderful fact that made me smile today.

4. A Best Original Screenplay nomination went to J.C. Chandor for “Margin Call,” which is surprising and well-deserved. I had hoped for something for “Margin Call.” I’m not getting my hopes up for a win, because Golden Globe winner “Midnight in Paris” should lock in yet another Oscar for writer/director Woody Allen.

5. Though “The Adventures of Tintin” failed to get its due, “Rio” notched a nomination for best original song, which it deserves. But it’s chances of beating “Man or Muppet,” which has gotten a lot of talk, is probably slim.

6. I’m glad Christopher Plummer, winner of the Golden Globe in the category, got a Best Supporting Actor nomination for “Beginners.” I can’t imagine it not winning, especially up against Jonah Hill. I think both Hill and Brad Pitt got undeserved acting nominations. Where’s the love for Sir Ben Kingsley in “Hugo”? He was brilliant, completely absorbed into his character. Plus, he looked like the book animations. Oh well, maybe next year.

What surprised you?? Is this going to be a thrilling Best Picture race?? Sound off! And subscribe to email updates so you know as I re-blog by reviews of Oscar nominated films!

6 thoughts on “Oscar, how dare you! 2012 Academy Award surprises

  1. I was also happily surprised with the nomination for J.C. Chandor. He’s completely deserving, and it’s amazing that he was nominated for his first feature. But I agree with you that Woody Allen is likely going to take Original Screenplay. I’d honestly be happy with either of them winning.

  2. Wow, what a predictable year! There may have been some surprises, but few have been particularly good. “Drive” got virtually no recognition, something I expected. But seriously, not even a nomination for Albert Brooks? I didn’t expect the Oscars to even touch upon films like “Melancholia” or “Martha Marcy May Marlene,” but some part of me hoped they would.

    Instead, we have the ever-annoying Best Picture nomination of “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close,” a film that has received very mixed reviews. Yet the Oscars feel the need to abide by that “Blind Side” syndrome and nominate the most sentimental thing they can. However, I was definitely happy with the recognition given to “Hugo” and “The Tree of Life.” The awards are still to come – maybe something interesting will happen then.

    1. I’m disappointed “The Tree of Life” got any nominations. I figured it would, but I don’t see the appeal at all. I think you’re right on that a part of Oscar gets too mushy with movies like “EL&IC,” it’s sad that they feel that need, because other films were more deserving.

Leave a Reply

